Denny Hamlin wins pole at Auto Club Speedway


Denny Hamlin will sit on the pole for Sunday’s Auto Club 400 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California. Driving the No. 11 car, Hamlin’s lap of 187.451 bested Greg Biffle who will start second.

Auto Club Speedway is a 1.5 mile track which has hosted 23 Sprint Cup Series races dating back to 1997.

STANDINGS: Sprint Cup Point Standings

The pole is the first of the season for Hamlin, he had three in 2012. With only 43 cars on the entry list there were no teams who went home after qualifying.

Full Qualifying Results for the Auto Club 400

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Tony Stewart
  9. Mark Martin
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Casey Mears
  12. Juan Pablo Montoya
  13. Clint Bowyer
  14. Kevin Harvick
  15. Dale Earnhardt Jr
  16. Kasey Kahne
  17. Jamie McMurray
  18. Jimmie Johnson
  19. Jeff Gordon
  20. Ryan Newman
  21. Marcos Ambrose
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Carl Edwards
  25. Bobby Labonte
  26. A.J. Allmendinger
  27. Paul Menard
  28. David Reutimann
  29. Dave Blaney
  30. Josh Wise
  31. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  32. David Stremme
  33. Travis Kvapil
  34. David Gilliland
  35. Michael McDowell
  36. Landon Cassill
  37. JJ Yeley
  38. Scott Riggs
  39. Timmy Hill
  40. Danica Patrick
  41. Mike Bliss
  42. David Ragan
  43. Joe Nemechek

Keselowski and Biffle will both go to the back of the field for engine swaps.

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!