Ty Gibbs making ARCA debut

Ty, the 16-year-old son of Coy Gibbs, will be making his ARCA Menards Series debut in the ARCA Pensacola 200 presented by Inspectra Thermal Solutions at Five Flags Speedway.

Gibbs will drive the No. 18 Monster Energy/ORCA Coolers Toyota in all the short track races, while 2017 series Bounty Rookie of the Year winner Riley Herbst will take the wheel at the superspeedway races.

“We’re obviously excited to get to Five Flags and get my season started,” Gibbs said. “But we’re equally excited to get to all of the tracks we’re going to race at this season. They’re all different and every one of them has their own challenges. Mark (McFarland, crew chief) has told me a lot about all of them.”

Gibbs and the rest of the ARCA Menards Series take to the half-mile Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, Florida on Saturday, March 9. Practice starts at 1 pm ET/12 pm CT; General Tire Pole Qualifying is set for 4:30 pm ET/3:30 pm CT; and the ARCA Pensacola 200 is set to go green at 8 pm ET/7 pm CT and will be televised live on MAVTV.