Matt Kenseth wins Budweiser Duel 1, Full Results from Daytona


Matt Kenseth won the first of two Budweiser Duels held Thursday evening at Daytona International Speedway. He crossed the start finish  of the 60 lap (150 mile) race first ahead of Kevin Harvick and Kansey Kahne who made it three wide at the finish line.

The race began with Austin Dillon on the pole by virtue of his speed on Sunday. Dillon will start the Daytona 5oo from the pole, while Kenseth will start Sunday’s race from the third position.

Thursday nights race marked the first time that the annual Duel race that leads up to the Daytona 500 was held at night under the lights. Previously the race had always been held during the day on Thursday and prior to that, it was held on a Wednesday.

Full Results for Budweiser Duel 1:

  1. Matt Kenseth
  2. Kevin Harvick – DQ’d for car height, will race
  3. Kasey Kahne
  4. Marcos Ambrose
  5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  6. Josh WIse
  7. Aric Almirola
  8. AJ Allmeninger
  9. David Gilliland
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. Tony Stewart
  12. Cole Whitt (in Daytona 500)
  13. Greg Biffle
  14. Danica Patrick
  15. Alex Bowman (In Daytona 500, as is everyone above him)
  16. Brian Vickers (In via Harvick DQ)
  17. Joey Logano
  18. Parker Kligerman
  19. Austin Dillon
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Kyle Busch
  22. Michael McDowell
  23. Joe Nemechek
  24. Reed Sorenson