Matt Kenseth wins at Chicagoland, full results for the Geico 400

Geoff Burke/Getty Images North America
Geoff Burke/Getty Images North America

Matt Kenseth won the Chase opening race at Chicagoland Speedway in what turned out to be a day dominated by the weather.

The Geico 400 had a delayed start due to rain but at 3:40 p ET a field of 43 cars took to the 1.5 mile oval in Joliet, Illinois.

Joey Logano began the race on the pole but it was not long before Jimmie Johnson found his way to the front of the field. Johnson would lose the lead under a green flag pit stop after NASCAR officials ruled he did not have all of his lug nuts which proved to be wrong. Johnson later would have a jack fail and lose a bunch of track position.

POINTS: Kenseth leads after Chicagoland, full standings

With rain falling on the track cars were called to pit road and the red flag was displayed on lap 109. It would take until 10:00 pm ET to re-fire engines. Total red flag time: 5 hours 10 minutes and 21 seconds

Kyle Busch would lead for much of the race after the rain delay before Matt Kenseth got around him on a restart with 23 to go.

The win was the sixth of the year for Kenseth who entered and will leave Chicagoland as the Sprint Cup Series point leader. Kenseth led a race high 89 laps.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Results for Geico 400 at Chicagoland

  1. Matt Kenseth
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Kurt Busch
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Brad Keselowski
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. Carl Edwards
  12. Kasey Kahne
  13. Aric Almirola
  14. Jeff Burton
  15. Marcos Ambrose
  16. Greg Biffle
  17. Mark Martin
  18. Martin Truex Jr.
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Danica Patrick
  21. AJ Allmendinger
  22. Paul Menard
  23. Dave Blaney
  24. Travis Kvapil
  25. JJ Yeley
  26. David Ragan
  27. Justin Allgaier
  28. David Gilliland
  29. Landon Cassill
  30. Casey Mears
  31. Joe Nemechek
  32. Juan Pablo Montoya
  33. Denny Hamlin
  34. Timmy Hill
  35. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  36. David Reutimann
  37. Joey Logano
  38. Brian Vickers
  39. Cole Whitt
  40. Tony Raines
  41. Josh Wise
  42. Reed Sorenson
  43. Michael McDowell
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.


Recent News