NASCAR announces changes to restart rule


On Sunday NASCAR announced a change to the restart rule.

The restart zone will remain in place and the leader will still control the start within the zone. Once the leader accelerates, the green flag will fly (within the restart zone). The flagman will throw the green if the leaders get to the end of the restart zone and the cars have not accelerated.

Once the leader accelerates (or green flag waves) he can be passed by the second place car. The second place car is now allowed to beat the leader to the start/finish line.

Drivers will not be allowed to change lanes before the start which may present a future problem should the leader spin the tires as was the case of Paul Menard at Richmond last Saturday.

Should the second place driver jump the restart he will be black flagged.

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!