Daytona 500 qualifying order, rules for positions, tv info


The Daytona 500 is fast approaching, with the running of the Sprint Unlimited already under our belt – next weekend can’t come soon enough for race fans. Coors Light Pole qualifying for the prestigious race is set for 1:10 p.m EST today. It will be aired on FOX or can be listened to live on MRN radio.

Tony Stewart driving his No.14 Chevrolet will be the first car to go out, with Juan Pablo Montoya being the last to hit the track for his two lap run.

The qualifying rules for the Daytona 500 are unique as today’s qualifying only guarantees the top two starting spots. The remaining qualifiers are seeded by qualifying speed into Thursday’s Budweiser Duel, two 150-mile races from which the majority of the final starting grid for the Daytona 500 is set. The front-row qualifiers and the highest 15 finishers in each Duel  excluding the front row from qualifying will earn a spot in the Daytona 500.

The next four fastest Coors Light Pole qualifiers will make up positions 33-36. Six provisional starting positions (37 through 42) will be awarded to the highest eligible car owners in final 2012 standings not otherwise qualified for the race. The 43rd position will be filled by the most recent past champion participating in a 2012 event. Should no past champion be eligible, the final position goes to the next highest owner in 2012 points.

Qualifying Order:

1    Tony Stewart (PC2)
2    Mike Bliss(i)
3    Kyle Busch
4    Martin Truex, Jr.
5    Terry Labonte (PC8)
6    Casey Mears
7    Michael McDowell
8    Danica Patrick #
9    Aric Almirola
10    Travis Kvapil
11    Mark Martin
12    JJ Yeley
13    Dave Blaney
14    Ryan Newman
15    Marcos Ambrose
16    Paul Menard
17    Bobby Labonte (PC7)
18    Jamie McMurray
19    Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. #
20    David Reutimann
21    Greg Biffle
22    Clint Bowyer
23    Austin Dillon(i)
24    Denny Hamlin
25    Michael Waltrip
26    Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
27    Regan Smith(i)
28    Joe Nemechek(i)
29    Jeff Gordon (PC6)
30    Matt Kenseth (PC5)
31    Brad Keselowski (PC1)
32    David Gilliland
33    Jimmie Johnson (PC3)
34    Scott Speed
35    Joey Logano
36    Jeff Burton
37    Kasey Kahne
38    Brian Keselowski
39    David Ragan
40    Trevor Bayne(i)
41    Kevin Harvick
42    Kurt Busch (PC4)
43    Josh Wise
44    Carl Edwards
45    Juan Pablo Montoya

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!