NASCAR Daytona 500 Budweiser Duels starting lineup

Jared C.Tilton/GETTY Images for NASCAR
Jared C.Tilton/GETTY Images for NASCAR

The Budweiser Duels are scheduled for Thursday. The duels consist of two, 60 lap – 150 mile races that will determine the starting order for NASCAR’s season opening race, the Daytona 500.

The field is divided in half for each duel, Daytona 500 qualifying speeds set the drivers position for the duels; even numbers in one race, odd numbers in the other.


Danica Patrick is on the pole for the 500, she became the first woman ever to win a pole in NASCAR Sprint Cup history during Sunday’s qualifying run with a speed of 196.434mph. Jeff Gordon will start alongside her.

45 drivers are on the entry list for the Great American race, but as the NASCAR field only allows 42 drivers – three drivers will miss the race after the duels.


  1. Danica Patrick
  2. Trevor Bayne(i)
  3. Tony Stewart
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
  7. Juan Pablo Montoya
  8. Casey Mears
  9. Carl Edwards
  10. Martin Truex, Jr.
  11. Jimmie Johnson
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Greg Biffle
  15. David Gilliland
  16. Michael Waltrip
  17. Kurt Busch
  18. Scott Speed
  19. Regan Smith(i)
  20. Bobby Labonte
  21. David Reutimann
  22. Joe Nemechek(i)
  23. Brian Keselowski
  1. Jeff Gordon
  2. Ryan Newman
  3. Kasey Kahne
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
  7. Paul Menard
  8. Austin Dillon(i)
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Jeff Burton
  11. Jamie McMurray
  12. Marcos Ambrose
  13. Aric Almirola
  14. Mark Martin
  15. David Ragan
  16. Josh Wise
  17. Michael McDowell
  18. Terry Labonte
  19. Dave Blaney
  20. JJ Yeley
  21. Travis Kvapil
  22. Mike Bliss(i)

Juan Pablo Montoya will be starting in the back due to an engine change. The 55th running of the Daytona 500 is February 24.

Recent News