Thursday, August 11, 2022

Chase Elliott claims bounty, wins Truck Series race at Charlotte

The bounty was on. With the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series returning to the track, so too was the effort to prevent Kyle Busch from winning his eighth straight race in the series. In the end it was a Cup Series regular, Chase Elliott, who would stop Busch from winning his 58th truck series race.

Ben Rhodes began the NC Lottery 200 on the pole following a random drawl in what was the first Tuesday race in the history of the Truck Series. His stay up front did not even last the first lap as Austin Hill would get around him to lead the first lap of the race. Ross Chastain would battle with Hill for the lead during the first stage, following a competition caution on lap 15, before ultimately winning the stage.

Elliott would win the second stage while Busch finished it in fifth. The third stage would get interesting midway through after a crash incoming Garrett Smithley. Busch would pit for tires falling to 23rd giving them lead to Zane Smith while Elliott restarted third. Another caution would again bunch up the field with Busch restarting 12th with 27 to go. A lap later he was inside the top five. Elliott moves past Sauter for the lead with 24 to go as Busch moved up to third. While Busch would make his way up to second he never could get close enough to Elliott to make a move.

NC Lottery 200 Truck Series Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Zane Smith
  4. Brett Moffitt
  5. Sheldon Creed
  6. John Hunter Nemechek
  7. Johnny Sauter
  8. Ty Majeski
  9. Austin Hill
  10. Ben Rhodes
  11. Ross Chastain
  12. Grant Enfinger
  13. Tyler Ankrum
  14. Christian Eckes
  15. Raphael Lessard
  16. Derek Kraus
  17. Tate Fogleman
  18. Codie Rohrbaugh
  19. Austin Wayne Self
  20. Tanner Gray
  21. Jesse Little
  22. Timmy Hill
  23. Angela Ruch
  24. Korbin Forrister
  25. Spencer Boyd
  26. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  27. Natalie Decker
  28. Bayley Currey
  29. Clay Greenfield
  30. Stewart Friesen
  31. Jordan Anderson
  32. Cory Roper
  33. TJ Bell
  34. Bryan Dauzat
  35. Garrett Smithley
  36. Todd Gilliland
  37. Matt Crafton
  38. Brennan Poole
  39. Jesse Iwuji
  40. Spencer Davis
John Boarman
John Boarman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.


Recent News