Kurt Busch wins Quaker State 400, full Kentucky Speedway Results

BRISTOL MOTOR SPEEDWAY, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA – APRIL 05: #1: Kurt Busch, Chip Ganassi Racing, Chevrolet Camaro Monster Energy during the Bristol at Bristol Motor Speedway on April 05, 2019 in Bristol Motor Speedway, United States of America. (Photo by John K Harrelson / NKP / LAT Images)

Kurt Busch won Saturday night’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at Kentucky Speedway.

The evening began with Daniel Suarez but after leading 50 laps he showed he would not be a factor to win the Quaker State 400. Kurt Busch went on to win the first stage.

When the race reached its second stage Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick and a cast of familiar face had worked their way to the front of the field.

With 11 laps to go in the second stage Kyle Busch would pit while teammate Denny Hamlin would be called for a tire violation which may sound familiar to fans of the No. 11 car as it was the same penalty that doomed their weekend at Chicagoland.  Busch would go on to win the second stage followed by Erik Jones, Austin Dillon, Joey Logano and Clint Bowyer. Thanks to the caution, Hamlin was able to stay on the same lap as the leaders though in 22nd place.

Kurt Busch and Bowyer would lead the field to the green to start the third stage with the latter holding off William Byron before Jimmie Johnson got loose and brought out a caution on lap 178.

Late pitstops gave Ryan Newman and Suarez a brief run at the front while Joey Logano challenged and passed Kyle Busch with 21 to go for the right to have the lead once Suarez pitted.

After a thrilling overtime finish it was Kurt Busch who found himself in victory lane.

Quaker State 400

  1. Kurt Busch
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Joey Logano
  8. Daniel Suarez
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Chris Buescher
  11. Paul Menard
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  13. Ryan Blaney
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Chase Elliott
  16. Matt DiBenedetto
  17. Alex Bowman
  18. William Byron
  19. Martin Truex Jr.
  20. Brad Keselowski
  21. Ryan Preece
  22. Kevin Harvick
  23. Bubba Wallace
  24. Daniel Hemric
  25. Michael McDowell
  26. Ty Dillon
  27. Matt Tifft
  28. Corey LaJoie
  29. David Ragan
  30. Jimmie Johnson
  31. Ross Chastain
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Bayley Currey
  34. Quin Houff
  35. Austin Dillon
  36. BJ McLeod


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here