Denny Hamlin wins Daytona 500, full results

Denny Hamlin has won the season opening Daytona 500.

William Byron began the race on the pole and ultimately finished 21st . Competing in what may be his final race, Jamie McMurray finished 22nd. Kurt Busch, the last driver in the field from Dale Earnhardt’s last race, would finish the day 25th.

Two cautions would happen in the first stage, the first was for Corey LaJoie while the second was for a crash that saw damage done to Kurt Busch, Bubba Wallace and Jamie McMurray. Kyle Busch would win the first stage of the race but much of it, and the second stage would be led by Matt DiBenedetto’s No. 95 car. A pack of six cars led by DiBenedetto would stay out and catch the rest of the field before a caution came out involving both Parker Kligerman and Casey Mears.

That caution would aid in Ryan Blaney winning the second stage just as he had in 2018. In the final stage Byron would use help from teammate Jimmie Johnson to move to the front of the field. With 41 laps to go several cars were involved in a crash on pit road during green flag pitstops which began with Cody Ware ran into the back of teammate BJ McLeod. Jimmie Johnson, Ricky Stenhouse and Tyler Reddick were all involved.  Following a caution for debis, Erik Jones would see his chances of winning go away when he lost fuel pressure with 22 laps to go. Kyle Larson would lose control of his ride a few laps later bringing out another caution. With nine to go the bigonehappened collecting 21 cars. With five to go another crash took place involving several others. With two to go it was Kyle Busch who led the field to the restart. Clint Bowyer would then be turned off Michasel McDowell’s car collecting Landon Cassill, Chase Elliott, McMurray and others.

This was the last restrictor plate race in NASCAR.

Daytona 500 Results

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Michael McDowell
  6. Ty DIllon
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. Ryan Preece
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Ross Chastain
  11. Alex Bowman
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. Parker Kligerman
  16. Austin Dillon
  17. Chase Elliott
  18. Corey LaJoie
  19. BJ McLeod
  20. Clint Bowyer
  21. William Byron
  22. Jamie McMurray
  23. Brendan Gaughan
  24. Landon Cassill
  25. Kurt Busch
  26. Kevin Harvick
  27. Tyler Reddick
  28. Matt DiBenedetto
  29. Paul Menard
  30. David Ragan
  31. Ryan Blaney
  32. Aric Almirola
  33. Daniel Suarez
  34. Daniel Hemric
  35. MartinTruex Jr.
  36. Matt Tifft
  37. Chris Buescher
  38. Bubba Wallace
  39. Cody Ware
  40. Casey Mears


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here