Dale Earnhardt Jr. wins first Daytona Can-Am Duel, NASCAR results


Dale Earnhardt Jr.  won the first of two NASCAR Can-Am Duel’s on Thursday from Daytona International Speedway.

Chase Elliott qualified for the Daytona 500 pole and began this race on the pole. The rookie was at the front of the field early on before giving way to teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. While Denny Hamlin got to the front for a while it was Earnhardt who retook the lead and claimed the win. He will now start third in the Daytona 500.

This marks the second year in which Earnhardt Jr. won a duel. Ryan Blaney finished third to guarantee himself a spot in the race. That also allowed Michael McDowell to claim a spot via time.

Josh Wise and Cole Whitt failed to make the race.

NASCAR Can-Am Duel Results

  1. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  2. Joey Lognao
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Chase Ellitt
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Greg Biffle
  9. Chris Buescher
  10. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  11. Austin Dillon
  12. Trevor Bayne
  13. Brad Keselowski
  14. Michael McDowell
  15. Regan Smith
  16. David Ragan
  17. Josh Wise
  18. Clint Bowyer
  19. Bobby Labonte
  20. Brian Scott
  21. Paul Menard
  22. Cole Whitt