Dale Earnhardt Jr again wins NASCAR’s most popular driver award


Dale Earnhardt Jr. has again won NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver award.

This marks the 13th consecutive time that Earnhardt has won the Most Popular Driver Award. He has won the award each year since Bill Elliott last won it back in 2002.

The voting window lasted 11 weeks this year during which time some 410,000 votes were cast by NASCAR fans – a 14 percent increase from 2014.

“NASCAR fans are the greatest in all of sports,” said NMPA President Brian Nelson, “and I’m delighted that Sprint and the NMPA have given them an opportunity to voice their support. The fans spoke loud and clear, and it’s obvious they support Dale Jr.”

Earnhardt won three races this year and finished 12th overall in the Sprint Cup Series point standings. In his 17 year Cup career he has won 26 races including seven over the last two seasons.