Jimmie Johnson wins at Texas, NASCAR Sprint Cup AAA Texas 350 results


Jimmie Johnson¬†won Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

The driver of the No. 48 Lowes Chevrolet passed Brad Keselwoski in the closing laps. Eliminated from the Chase, Johnson becomes the first non-championship eligible driver to win a Chase race this season. It is his sixth win at Texas.

Beginning the race on the pole was Brad Keselowski but his Penske Racing teammate Joey Logano brought out the first caution after losing a tire now finds himself needing a win at Phoenix in order to advance to the final round of the championship at Homestead.

Erik Jones, filling in for the suspended Matt Kenseth, began the race sixth and finished 12th.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Results at Texas

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Carl Edwards
  6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Jeff Gordon
  10. Jamie McMurray
  11. Austin Dillon
  12. Erik Jones
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Brian Scott
  15. Clint Bowyer
  16. Danica Patrick
  17. AJ Allmendinger
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Greg Biffle
  20. Kasey Kahne
  21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  22. Ryan Newman
  23. David Ragan
  24. Sam Hornish Jr.
  25. Landon Cassill
  26. Casey Mears
  27. Cole Whitt
  28. Justin Allgaier
  29. David Gilliland
  30. Brett Moffitt
  31. Michael Annett
  32. Jeb Burton
  33. JJ Yeley
  34. Michael McDowell
  35. Matt DiBenedetto
  36. Ryan Preece
  37. Kyle Larson
  38. Denny Hamlin
  39. Trevor Bayne
  40. Joey Logano
  41. Alex Bowman
  42. Tony Stewat
  43. Ryan Blaney