David Ragan to take over No. 55 at Kansas, Erik Jones to drive No. 18


David Ragan will move over to the No. 55 Toyota at Michael Waltrip Racing beginning at the May 9 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kansas.

Michael Waltrip will drive the No. 55 car at Talladega before turning over the seat to Ragan who has been driving the No. 18 Toyota Camry of Joe Gibbs Racing in place of an injured Kyle Busch.

With Ragan’s departure to MWR, JGR will fill the seat of the No. 18 with Erik Jones. Last week Jones filled in for Denny Hamlin – after a rain delay – and drove to a 26th place finish.

Ragan had been signed by Front Row Racing but currently Xfinity Series driver Chris Buescher of Roush Fenway Racing has been filling in for the No. 34 Ford when available. No word on whether or not that arrangement will continue.