AJ Allmendinger wins Cheez-It 355, full results from Watkins Glen


AJ Allmendinger won Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race from Watkins Glen International. It is Allmendinger’s first ever Sprint Cup series win.

The driver of the No. 47 was the first to the checkered flag at the Cheez-It 355 following 90 laps of racing at the six-turn road course measuring 2.45 miles around.

Jeff Gordon began the race on the pole but lost the lead on the first round of pitstops to Marcos Ambrose. Tony Stewart did not compete in the race following a dirt track incident Saturday night while Kyle Busch went to the garage early with damage. Meanwhile multiple-time runner up Brad Keselowski would damage his car early on running into the back of Matt Kenseth.

On lap 51 Gordon’s chances of winning went away when his car lost power. A lengthy red flag came out following an accident involving Ryan Newman and Michael McDowell. Following pitstops Carl Edwards and later AJ Allmendinger lead the race.

A slue of late race cautions would bunch up the field before another red flag would stop the race with four laps to go. When the race started again, Ambrose went for the lead but was shut out by Allmendinger.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Results from Watkins Glen

  1. AJ Allmendinger
  2. Marcos Ambrose
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Carl Edwards
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Greg Biffle
  9. Matt Kenseth
  10. Brian Vickers
  11. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  12. Kasey Kahne
  13. Martin Truex Jr.
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. Casey Mears
  16. Austin Dillon
  17. Justin Allgaier
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. David Ragan
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Danica Patrick
  22. David Gilliland
  23. Reed Sorenson
  24. Denny Hamlin
  25. Boris Said
  26. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  27. Clint Bowyer
  28. Jimmie Johnson
  29. Landon Cassill
  30. Joe Nemechek
  31. Michael Annett
  32. Paul Menard
  33. Alex Kennedy
  34. Jeff Gordon
  35. Brad Keselowski
  36. Alex Bowman
  37. Regan Smith
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Ryan Truex
  40. Kyle Busch
  41. Ryan Newman
  42. Michael McDowell
  43. Cole Whitt