Denny Hamlin wins Sprint Unlimited, Full Results from Daytona

getty for nascar

getty for nascar

Denny Hamlin won the Sprint Unlimited, the first NASCAR event of 2014. The driver of the No. 11 FedEx Toyota Camry finished ahead of Brad Keselwoski to take the checkered flag in the non-points race held the weekend prior to the season opening Daytona 500.

The race had a series of fan votes determine it’s format which ended up being three segments of 30, 25 and 20 laps. Denny Hamlin started on the pole for the race after the fan vote chose the starting lineup via final practice speeds.

One driver who did not make it to the second segment was Jimmie Johnson who got loose and crashed into the infield wall near the near the end of the segment ending his night. In the second  segment Matt Kenseth cut down in front of Joey Logano and he result was seven cars headed to the garage. Denny Hamlin won the second segment.

Only nine cars were left on the track to start the final segment. Hamlin’s win is his second, he won in his rookie season in 2002. Hamlin was the winner of NASCAR’s final race of 2013 at Homesead.

NASCAR Sprint Unlimited Results from Daytona

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Jamie McMurray
  7. Marcos Ambrose
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Tony Stewart
  12. Jeff Gordon
  13. Carl Edwards
  14. Kurt Busch
  15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  16. Danica Patrick
  17. Jimmie Johnson