Carl Edwards wins Cup pole at Texas, full qualifying results for AAA Texas 500


getty images

Johnson wins sixth race of season, full results for AAA 500

Carl Edwardsvwon the pole for the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway. The No. 99 car of Edwards will be at the front of a field of 43 on Sunday joined by Brad Keselowski.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has three races left on its schedule, the first of which will take place this weekend at the 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway located in Fort Worth, TX.

Matt Kenseth and Jimmie Johnson are tied atop the standings, 27 points ahead of Jeff Gordon. Kenseth will start sixth, Johnson will start thirdand Gordon will start eighth.

Sprint Cup Series drivers will run 334 laps or 501 miles around Texas Motor Speedway. Coverage of this race will air on ESPN beginning at 3:00 pm ET (2:00 pm local) with the green flag to wave at 3:16 pm ET. (2:16 pm local)

Jimmie Johnson won at Texas earlier this year while Kyle Busch found victory lane in this race a year ago.

Qualifying Results for AAA Texas 500

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Paul Menard
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Jeff Gordon
  9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
  10. Marcos Ambrose
  11. Kasey Kahne
  12. Joey Logano
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Denny Hamlin
  15. Martin Truex Jr.
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. Greg Biffle
  19. Kevin Harvick
  20. Jeff Burton
  21. Austin Dillon
  22. Bobby Labonte
  23. Parker Kligerman
  24. Jamie McMurray
  25. Elliott Sadler
  26. Clint Bowyer
  27. Casey Mears
  28. David Gilliland
  29. David Ragan
  30. Danica Patrick
  31. Kurt BUsch
  32. Trevor Bayne
  33. Mark Martin
  34. Josh Wise
  35. Michael McDowell
  36. Kyle Larson
  37. Landon Cassill
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. David Reutimann
  40. Timmy Hill
  41. Joe Nemecheck
  42. Dave Blaney
  43. JJ Yeley