Jimmie Johnson wins at Texas, full results for the AAA 500

getty images

getty images

Jimmie Johnson won the AAA 500 from Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday.

Carl Edwards began the AAA 500 on the pole at the 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway. Entering the day Matt Kenseth and Jimmie Johnson were tied atop the point standings. It did not take long for Johnson and Kenseth to become 1-2 on the track. Jeff Gordon who entered the race third in the standings saw his title hopes evaporate when he hit the wall early.

Shortly after half-way Kenseth would be caught speeding on pitroad during a green flag pitstop dropping him from second to 16th. With a little more than 100 laps to go Johnson clinched the bonus point for leading the most laps while Kenseth worked his way up to seventh.

In the end no one had anything for Johnson who earned his sixth win of the season and 66th of his career.

With two races to go it will be John ahead of Kenseth by seven points.

Results for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Texas Motor Speedway

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Kasey Kahne
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. Mark Martin
  12. Greg Biffle
  13. Martin Truex Jr.
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. Paul Menard
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. Kurt Busch
  18. Parker Kligerman
  19. Marcos Ambrose
  20. Elliott Sadler
  21. Juan Pablo Montoya
  22. Austin Dillon
  23. Kyle Larson
  24. Jeff Burton
  25. Danica Patrick
  26. David Gilliland
  27. Aric Almirola
  28. David Reutimann
  29. Trevor Bayne
  30. JJ Yeley
  31. Jamie McMurray
  32. Travis Kavpil
  33. Casey Mears
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Dave Blaney
  36. Joe Nemechek
  37. Carl Edwards
  38. Jeff Gordon
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Bobby Labonte
  41. Timmy Hill
  42. David Ragan
  43. Michael McDowell