Ryan Newman wins at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, full race results for Crown Royal 400


The 20th NASCAR Sprint Cup race at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway was won by Indiana native Ryan Newman. The 2.5 mile Brickyard win was the first of the year for Newman and his first at the Brickyard.

Indiana native Ryan Newman set a new track record in qualifying and led the early portion of the race. On lap 12 Dale Earnhardt Jr made an unexpected pit stop for a loose wheel and lost a lap in the process, he would later rebound for a top ten finish.

It would not take long before Jimmie Johnson would move to the top of the scoring pylon. The first caution came out on lap 59 when Timmy Hill’s car slowed on the track – in the midst of pit stops with Jeff Gordon leading.

Carl Edwards and Joey Logano would both see time at the front of the field but the race was Johnson’s to lose.

Johnson had a poor final pit stop which allowed Newman, who took two tires, to take the lead.

NASCAR Results at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

  1. Ryan Newman
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Kasey Kahne
  4. Tony Stewart
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  7. Jeff Gordon
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Juan Pablo Montoya
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Martin Truex Jr.
  12. Paul Menard
  13. Carl Edwards
  14. Kurt Busch
  15. Jamie McMurray
  16. Marcos Ambrose
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. Denny Hamlin
  19. Kevin Harvick
  20. Clint Bowyer
  21. Brad Keselowski
  22. AJ Allmendinger
  23. Mark Martin
  24. Greg Biffle
  25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  26. Austin Dillon
  27. Casey Mears
  28. Trevor Bayne
  29. David Reutimann
  30. Danica Patrick
  31. Travis Kvapil
  32. Michael McDowell
  33. Landon Cassill
  34. David Ragan
  35. David Gilliland
  36. Bobby Labonte
  37. Dave Blaney
  38. Josh Wise
  39. JJ Yeley
  40. David Stremme
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Timmy Hill
  43. Jeff Burton

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!