Martin Truex Jr. wins Toyota Save Mart 350 at Sonoma, full race results


credit: getty images

Martin Truex Jr. won the Toyota Save Mart 350 from Sonoma Raceway. For Truex it is his first win since 2007 at Dover. Truex’s win is the second in two seasons for Michael Waltrip Racing at Sonoma.

Jamie McMurray began the race on the pole at the track formerly known as Sears Point. McMurray would be passed by the second turn by Marcos Ambrose who started the race second.

Before the race began Paulie Harraka ran into the back of the car driven by Alex Kennedy. Harraka would later run off the course when the race began ending his day. Early in the race Juan Pablo Montoya spun Kyle Busch sending Busch to the back of the field.

It would be a rough day for Busch who would later find himself spinning and damaging his two other times.

Varying pit strategy took place with drivers opting to make pit stops under cautions instead of the customary green. Martin Truex Jr would seize the lead late while Jeff Gordon began to move up through the pack with four fresh tires.

In the end Truex had more then enough fuel and won his first race since 2007.

Sprint Cup Results for the Toyota Save Mart 350 at Sonoma Raceway

Pos Driver Car # Make
1 Martin Truex Jr. 56 Toyota
2 Jeff Gordon 24 Chevrolet
3 Carl Edwards 99 Ford
4 Kurt Busch 78 Chevrolet
5 Clint Bowyer 15 Toyota
6 Kasey Kahne 5 Chevrolet
7 Marcos Ambrose 9 Ford
8 Greg Biffle 16 Ford
9 Jimmie Johnson 48 Chevrolet
10 Kevin Harvick 29 Chevrolet
11 Joey Logano 22 Ford
12 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 88 Chevrolet
13 Brian Vickers 55 Toyota
14 Paul Menard 27 Chevrolet
15 Ryan Newman 39 Chevrolet
16 Casey Mears 13 Ford
17 Travis Kvapil 93 Toyota
18 Boris Said 32 Ford
19 Matt Kenseth 20 Toyota
20 Aric Almirola 43 Ford
21 Brad Keselowski 2 Ford
22 Ron Fellows 33 Chevrolet
23 Denny Hamlin 11 Toyota
24 David Gilliland 38 Ford
25 Jamie McMurray 1 Chevrolet
26 David Reutimann 83 Toyota
27 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 17 Ford
28 Tony Stewart 14 Chevrolet
29 Danica Patrick 10 Chevrolet
30 Justin Marks 7 Chevrolet
31 Jeff Burton 31 Chevrolet
32 Josh Wise 35 Ford
33 Juan Pablo Montoya 42 Chevrolet
34 David Ragan 34 Ford
35 Kyle Busch 18 Toyota
36 David Stremme 30 Toyota
37 Victor Gonzalez Jr. 36 Chevrolet
38 Tomy Drissi 87 Toyota
39 Paulie Harraka 152 Ford
40 Alex Kennedy 19 Toyota
41 Jacques Villeneuve 51 Chevrolet
42 J.J. Yeley 37 Chevrolet
43 Bobby Labonte 47 Toyota

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!