Jimmie Johnson wins NASCAR All-Star race, full race results


The only thing that mattered on Saturday night was winning. Points, cars nothing else mattered and that is exactly what Jimmie Johnson did driving his No. 48 car to a win in the Sprint All-Star race.

NASCAR’s annual All-Star race is made up of five segments with a mandatory pit stop before the last. The first four segments are twenty laps with the last being a ten lap mad dash with only green laps counted. The final pit stop order onto pit road was determined by average finish in the first four segments.

Carl Edwards began the race on the pole but Kurt Busch stormed to the front of the field to lead the first lap. On lap three the transmission of Brad Keselowski broke ending his night. On lap eight ran began to fall on the track and cars made pit-stops. By lap 11 the red flag dropped. Kurt Busch would lead the remainder of the segment before a caution at the completion of the 20th lap.

CAT IN THE HAT: Jeff Gordon’s race helmet for All-Star Race

Clint Bowyer snuck past Busch on lap 22 for the lead. The third caution came out after Ricky Stenhouse bounced off the wall and forced Mark Martin down the track. Kyle Busch would eventually cruise to the segment win. While the majority of cars hit pit road Edwards, Bowyer and Martin stayed out moving to the front of the field for the start of segment three.

Martin, Edwards and Bowyer all faded to the back as Kyle Busch re-assumed the lead early in the third segment and won the segment ahead of brother Kurt.

After pit stops Kasey Kahne started the fourth segment in the lead. Contact between Greg Biffle and Dale Earnhardt forced Biffle to the pits and brought out a caution.Kurt Busch would go on to win the segment ahead of Kahne and Johnson. Kurt Busch would lead the field onto pit road for the final pit stop ahead of Kyle Busch.

Kasey Kahne would lead the field out of the pits for the final segment. Kahne and Johnson traded barbs for the lead but in the end it was Johnson first to the line winning his second consecutive All-Star race. He becomes the second driver (Davey Allison) to win the event back-to-back. He has a record four All-Star wins

Unofficial Results for the Sprint All-Star Race

Pos Driver Car # Make Started
1 Jimmie Johnson 48 Chevrolet 18
2 Joey Logano 22 Ford 5
3 Kyle Busch 18 Toyota 4
4 Kasey Kahne 5 Chevrolet 9
5 Kurt Busch 78 Chevrolet 2
6 Denny Hamlin 11 Toyota 7
7 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 88 Chevrolet 15
8 Jamie McMurray 1 Chevrolet 20
9 Matt Kenseth 20 Toyota 16
10 Carl Edwards 99 Ford 1
11 Kevin Harvick 29 Chevrolet 19
12 Jeff Gordon 24 Chevrolet 10
13 Ryan Newman 39 Chevrolet 11
14 Tony Stewart 14 Chevrolet 13
15 Greg Biffle 16 Ford 3
16 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 17 Ford 21
17 Marcos Ambrose 9 Ford 17
18 Clint Bowyer 15 Toyota 6
19 David Ragan 34 Ford 14
20 Danica Patrick 10 Chevrolet 22
21 Mark Martin 55 Toyota 8
22 Brad Keselowski 2 Ford 12


Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!