Tony Stewart wins Nationwide DRIVE4COPD 300, Full race results from Daytona


The season opening NASCAR Nationwide Series race was won by Tony Stewart. Stewart was able to claim his seventh Nationwide win at Daytona when Brad Keselowski turned Regan Smith as the cars approached the checked flag. Stewart was able to sneak though for the win.

During the final lap wreck the engine of the No. 32 car of Kyle Larson pierced the catch fence and ended up on the fans side of the fence.

Pack and tandem racing collected in a thrilling opener that saw a record 19 different drivers lead.

Trevor Bayne led 40 cars to green Saturday, a broken drive train late in the event would ruin his day.

kylebuschmonsterDanica Patrick started 12th but her car would lose power on lap 32. Her Turner Scott Motorsports team was unable to get her back into the event.

Midway though the race Mike Wallace bumped into Michael Annett which would end the day of Kurt Busch who was driving the No. 1 Chevrolet for Phoenix Racing.

On lap 99 Kyle Busch lost a motor. He was the third Gibbs car to have engine trouble. Teammates Brian Vickers and Elliott Sadler both needed water midway though the race.

A wreck with five laps to go when Annett slid up and hit Austin Dillon. Also involved were Kasey Kahne, Johanna Long, Jamie Dick, Mike Bliss, Jason White, Hal Martin and Danny Efland. Matt Kenseth avoided the wreck but spun though the grass afterwards.

A red flag was thrown with four to go in order to clear the track of debris.

Results for the DRIVE4COPD 300 at Daytona


Pos Driver
1 Tony Stewart
2 Sam Hornish Jr.
3 Alex Bowman
4 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
5 Parker Kligerman
6 Brian Scott
7 Justin Allgaier
8 Eric McClure
9 Robert Richardson Jr.
10 Nelson Piquet Jr.
11 Travis Pastrana
12 Brad Keselowski
13 Kyle Larson
14 Regan Smith
15 Elliott Sadler
16 Matt Kenseth
17 Mike Harmon
18 Joe Nemechek
19 Brian Vickers
20 Kasey Kahne
21 Jeffrey Earnhardt
22 Mike Bliss
23 Jason White
24 Austin Dillon
25 Danny Efland
26 Michael Annett
27 Johanna Long
28 Hal Martin
29 Jamie Dick
30 Reed Sorenson
31 Trevor Bayne
32 Kyle Busch
33 Jeremy Clements
34 Mike Wallace
35 Kurt Busch
36 Danica Patrick
37 Juan Carlos Blum
38 Blake Koch
39 Scott Lagasse Jr.
40 Jeff Green

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!