Marcos Ambrose slips by Keselowski to win at Watkins Glen

Marcos Ambrose driving the No. 9 Richard Petty Motorsports Ford slipped by Brad Keselowski on the last lap of the race at Watkin’s Glen to win for the second year in a row.

Kyle Busch was leading the race reports are that he slipped on oil and got lose, at that point Keselowski got into him and turned him.

It seemed like Keselowski was going to win when Ambrose came from the side on the last turn to pass him.

Busch’s crew chief says that the No. 18 was having trouble navigating though oil from the No. 47 of Bobby Labonte. Keselowski says that the No. 18 car was leaking oil and said that it was great to race against drivers like Marcos Ambrose who won’t wreck you.

Both of Ambrose’s wins in the Cup Series have come at Watkins Glen.

Jeff Gordon wrecked on the last lap and finished in the 21st position.

Jimmie Johnson is now the points leader. Dale Earnhardt Jr slid to fourth in the points after he spun on what he called “a mistake” he came back on the track but struggled to drive the car due to oil on the track. Johnson also said the oil was a late factor in the race. He said he struggled to see the oil but knew it was there.

Up next weekend is Michigan. Earnhardt won there earlier this year.


Recent News