Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Kyle Busch wins Xfinity Series race at Charlotte, full results

The NASCAR Xfinity Series was in action on Memorial Day at Charlotte Motor Speedway. After the end of 300 miles it was Kyle Busch claiming the win in the Alsco 300 on Monday night.

Ross Chastain began the night on the pole as a result of a random drawling held to determine the starting lineup. Kody Vanderwal would bring out an early caution and while Kyle Busch made his way though the field to start, Chastain would end up leading the race to the competition caution and later the third caution which came out for another incident involving Vaderwal. On the ensuring restart Busch would pressure Chastain and take the lead with seven laps left in the stage en-route to winning the first stage of the race.

One driver who had a difficult time in the first stage was Justin Allgaier who dealt with electrical issues driving without the gauges on his dash. During the pitstops between the stages Jeffrey Earnhardt took his jack out onto the track while Ryan Sieg had to take his No. 39 Chervolet to the garage. 

Chastain would try and hold Busch off but late in the second stage Busch was able to get around him to claim the second stage win. 

Chase Briscoe would get two penalties in the third stage. The first was for a tire outside his pit box, the second was for speeding while entering pit road. He was not alone in speeding onto pit road as Busch would suffer the same fate. A blown motor on the No. 66 of Timmy Hill would drop oil onto the track with both Chastain and Briscoe running into it and damaging their cars.

With 30 laps to go Briscoe would make contact with the wall again. The caution would bring Busch and others to pit road but Austin Cindric, Noah Gragson, Justin Haley and others would opt to remain out. With 26 to go Busch would restart sixth. 

Myatt Snider found the wall with 17 laps to go after contact from Justin Allgaier. Busch would find his way around Cindric and Gragson but a caution for an incident involving Riley Herbst and Haley would bring out another caution with eight to go. Gragson got lose on the restart which would see the exit of Haley from the race and substantial damage to Brandon Jones and Tommy Joe Martins.  Cindric would slip by Busch on the restart but Busch was not going to go down easily as the two bumped down the back stretch but in the end it was Busch earning the checkered flag.

The win is the first of the season for Busch in the Xfinity Series and the 97th in his career. 

Charlotte Xfinity Series Results

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Daniel Hemric
  3. Austin Cindric
  4. Ross Chastain
  5. Justin Allgaier
  6. Brett Moffitt
  7. Michael Annett
  8. Brandon Brown
  9. Harrison Burton
  10. Myatt Snider
  11. Noah Gragson
  12. Riley Herbst
  13. Dillon Bassett
  14. Josh Williams
  15. Jesse Little
  16. Alex Labbe
  17. BJ McLeod
  18. Bayley Currey
  19. Joe Graf Jr.
  20. Chase Briscoe
  21. Mason Massey
  22. Chad Finchum
  23. Vinnie Miller
  24. Tommy Joe Martins
  25. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  26. Joe Nemechek
  27. Brandon Jones
  28. Ryan Sieg
  29. Justin Haley
  30. Matt Mills
  31. Jeremy Clements
  32. Austin Hill
  33. Timmy Hill
  34. Kody Vaderwal
  35. Jeff Green
  36. Colby Howard
John Boarman
John Boarman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News