Jimmie Johnson wins Advance Auto Parts Clash, full results

The Advance Auto Parts Clash traditionally takes place the weekend prior to the running of the Daytona 500 and this Sunday the first driver to go to victory lane was Jimmie Johnson after he wrecked Paul Menard to bring out a caution. Rain would come for the third time on the day and Johnson was declared the winner .

WATCH: Johnson spins Menard

Menard began the race which was scheduled to run 75 laps on the pole after a drawling was held on Saturday night to determine starting spots. For much of the race his No. 21 Motorcraft Ford Mustang was at the front of the field, even during two red flags for rain. With 20 laps to go Menard was hit by Johnson triggering a multi-car accident which collected the majority of the field.

After the crash Johnson would say he felt he got below Menard prior to being blocked.

Advance Auto Parts Clash Results

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Kurt Busch
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Alex Bowman
  6. Chase Elliott
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Daniel Suarez
  11. Jamie McMurray
  12. Kevin Harvick
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. Martin Truex Jr.
  16. Clint Bowyer
  17. Denny Hamlin
  18. Brad Keselowski
  19. Kyle Larson
  20. Erik Jones


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here