Rain gives Kyle Busch, NASCAR Cup Qualifying Results

Kyle Busch claimed the pole Saturday afternoon for the running of the Big Machine Vodka 400 at the Brickyard thought it was not the speed of the No. 18 Toyota Camry but mother nature that proved to be the deciding factor as rain cancelled all NASCAR on track activities for Saturday.

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series’ annual trip to Indianapolis Motor Speedway comes a bit later this year after a schedule change has shifted the event which took place in the hot summer to the second Sunday in September. A consequence of all this is that the race is now the final event before the NASCAR Playoffs begin.

A year ago Kasey Kahne won at Indy, now Kahne as well as anyone else who wants to go to the post season must find victory lane or else Alex Bowman figures to be the final entrant into the playoffs. In a bit of a thud, 14 of the 16 spots are locked up with Jimmie Johnson and Bowman likely to claim the other two unless a first time winner emerges.

Coverage of the Big Machines Vodka 400 at the Brickyard airs on NBCSN and the NBC Sports App at 1:00 pm ET with the green flag around 1:20 pm ET. The start time has more to do with avoiding the kickoff time for the early games as the NFL season also starts this weekend.

NASCAR Qualifying Results at Indy

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Kurt Busch
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Ryan Blaney
  10. Denny Hamlin
  11. Chase Elliott
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Erik Jones
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Alex Bowman
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. Ryan Newman
  18. Austin Dillon
  19. Paul Menard
  20. Daniel Suarez
  21. Jamie McMurray
  22. William Byron
  23. Chase Buescher
  24. AJ Allmendinger
  25. David Ragan
  26. Michael McDowell
  27. Regan Smith
  28. Bubba Wallace
  29. Matt Kenseth
  30. Ty Dillon
  31. Matt DiBenedetto
  32. Ross Chastain
  33. Corey LaJoie
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. JJ Yeley
  36. David Starr
  37. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  38. Reed Sorenson
  39. Timmy Hill
  40. BJ McLeod


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here