Denny Hamlin wins STP 500, full NASCAR results from Martinsville


Denny Hamlin won Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race from Martinsville Speedway.

The driver of the No. 11 Fed Ex Toyota finished ahead of Brad Keselowski to go to victory lane in the STP 500.

Joey Logano began the race on the pole and led much of the early portion of the race but a spin at the mid-way point forced him to work his way back up the field. Last year’s winner Kurt Busch would deal with a loss of power steering while a normal favorite for this event in Jimmie Johnson had a never ending series of problems.

With 58 laps to go Jeff Gordon would take the lead but a pit road speeding penalty would relegate him to a ninth place finish. In the end Denny Hamlin would hold off Brad Keselowski.

STP 500 Sprint Cup Results from Martinsville Speedway

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Brad Keselwski
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. David Ragan
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Danica Patrick
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Jeff Gordon
  10. Jamie McMurray
  11. Kasey Kahne
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Clint Bowyer
  14. Kurt Busch
  15. Casey Mears
  16. Regan Smith
  17. Carl Edwards
  18. Trevor Bayne
  19. Greg Biffle
  20. Tony Stewarat
  21. Landon Cassill
  22. Cole Whitt
  23. Paul Menard
  24. Chris Buescher
  25. David Gilliland
  26. JJ Yeley
  27. Ryan Newman
  28. Brett Moffitt
  29. Jeb Burton
  30. Josh Wise
  31. Matt Dibenedtto
  32. Sam Hornish Jr.
  33. Alex Kennedy
  34. Mike Bliss
  35. Jimmie Johnson
  36. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  37. Alex Bowman
  38. Chase Elliott
  39. Michael Annett
  40. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  41. Austin Dilln
  42. Justin Allgaier
  43. AJ Allmendinger