Kurt Busch wins Indianapolis 500 Rookie of Year Award


Driver of the No. 26 Andretti Autosport Suretone Honda Kurt Busch has been named the winner of the 2014 Sunoco Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year Award.

In the first Verizon IndyCar Series race of his career, Busch was the fastest qualifier (12th) and highest finisher (6th) among the seven rookies in this year’s Indianapolis 500.

Busch earned a $25,000 bonus from Sunoco as part of his total race winnings of $423,889.

Busch attempted to complete the double by completing the Indy 500 and then flying back to Charlotte Motor Speedway to compete in the Coca Cola 600. Busch was unable to complete the double when his engine blew during the Sprint Cup race.

Busch was presented with his award Monday night at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway during the Indianapolis 500 Victory Awards Celebration.