Clint Bowyer, AJ Allmendinger advance to All-Star race, full results for Sprint Showdown at Charlotte


Clint Bowyer won the NASCAR Sprint Showdown at Charlotte Motor Speedway to advance to Saturday nights Sprint All-Star race. Also advancing to the All-Star race was second place finisher AJ Allmendinger.

Austin Dillon began the first of two 20 lap segments on the pole after setting the fast time in qualifying on Friday. On the start of the race A.J. Allmendinger took the lead but it was not long before Ricky Stenhouse Jr. spun around Marcos Ambrose, who managed to hang onto his car, to bring out the first caution. While Allmendinger led the first 18 laps it was Clint Bowyer who got around him going into turn three to take the lead as the white flag waved. Bowyer would lead the final lap to claim the first segment and lead most of the field onto pit road.

FAN VOTE: Josh Wise wins, Danica left out

A few cars stayed out while others took just two tires to change up the running order. Bowyer on fire tires blew by the field in a matter of laps to reclaim the lead while Allmendinger settled into the second spot.

NASCAR Sprint Showdown Results

  1. Clint Bowyer
  2. AJ Allmendinger
  3. Casey Mears
  4. Marcos Ambrose
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  8. Austin Dillon
  9. Paul Menard
  10. Danica Patrick
  11. David Gilliland
  12. Cole Whitt
  13. Alex Bowman
  14. Dave Blaney
  15. Michael Annett
  16. Joe Nemechek
  17. Landon Cassill
  18. Josh Wise
  19. Ryan Truex
  20. J.J. Yeley
  21. Reed Sorenson
  22. Blake Koch
  23. David Stremme