Dillon wins pole for Daytona 500, full qualifying results

getty for nascar

getty for nascar

Starting Lineup for Daytona 500

Austin Dillon claimed the pole for the Daytona 500 during Sunday’s qualifying session. The driver of he No. 3 Chevrolet SS posted the fastest lap around the 2.5-mile Daytona International Speedway. The Daytona 500 will be the first time since the death of Dale Earnhardt Sr. in 2001 that the No. 3 has raced at the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series level.

“I feel like our engines have been really good since we’ve been here (at Daytona). … I just had to get my shifts. And I knew that hopefully I could hold the wheel straight for two laps,” Dillon told Fox after his lap.

Drivers took two laps around the track aiming for the top spot. The top two speeds have ensured themselves a spot on the front row while the rest of the field will be set by Thursday’s Budweiser Duels. Martin Truex Jr. will start outside Dillon.

Dillon won the 2013 Nationwide Series title and will be competing in the Sprint Cup series full-time this season under Richard Childress Racing.

“I couldn’t be more proud of Austin. We wanted to come down here and put on a good show with the 3,” Childress told Fox.

The return of the No. 3 has left the NASCAR fan base divided, as many fans would rather of seen the No. 3 retired, instead of returning to the Sprint Cup this season. On the other hand, many other fans believe the number being active on the track helps to honor Earnhardt Sr.’s legacy.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. held the provisional pole until Greg Biffle notched a quicker lap late into qualifying. When Dillon ran his lap and claimed the pole from Biffle,  the crowd cheered.

Last years pole sitter Danica Patrick qualified 25th. Jimmie Johnson was last year’s Daytona 500 winner.

Full Qualifying Results for the Daytona 500

  1. Austin Dillon
  2. Martn Truex Jr.
  3. Greg Biffle
  4. Carl Edwards
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Jeff Gordon
  9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  10. Paul Menard
  11. Marcos Ambrose
  12. Brian Scott
  13. Aric Almirola
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Joey Logano
  16. Casey Mears
  17. Matt Kenseth
  18. Michael Annett
  19. Kasey Kahne
  20. Clint Bowyer
  21. Kyle Busch
  22. Denny Hamlin
  23. Kevin Harvick
  24. Kyle Larson
  25. Danica Patrick
  26. Trevor Bayne
  27. AJ Allmendinger
  28. Kurt Busch
  29. Reed Sorenson
  30. Justin Allgaier
  31. David Gilliland
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Parker Kligerman
  34. Michael Waltrip
  35. Tony Stewart
  36. Eric McClure
  37. Brian Vickers
  38. Jamie McMurray
  39. Cole Whitt
  40. David Ragan
  41. Michael McDowell
  42. Terry Labonte
  43. Josh Wise
  44. Bobby Labonte
  45. Joe Nemechek
  46. Ryan Truex
  47. Alex Bowman
  48. Morgan Shepherd
  49. Dave Blaney – DNS