Denny Hamlin wins Cup pole at Bristol, full qualifying results for the Irwin Tools Night Race


getty images

Denny Hamlin was the fast qualifier on Friday and has earned the pole for the Irwin Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

A total of 43 cars will take to the .533 mile short track dubbed the world’s fastest half-mile. The lone car who failed to qualify for the race was Mike Bliss. The No. 18 car of Kyle Busch will start from the back of the back after suffering damage in qualifying. The plan currently is for Busch to not go to a back up car.

Coverage of Saturday nights race at Bristol Motor Speedway will air on ABC beginning at 7:30 pm ET. The green flag will wave at 7:43 pm ET.

Kasey Kahne won the March race at Bristol, while Denny Hamlin found victory lane in this race a year ago.

Qualifying Results for the Irwin Tools Night Race at Bristol

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Kurt Busch
  3. Carl Edwards
  4. Brian Vickers
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Aric Almirola
  11. Mark Martin
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Jimmie Johnson
  14. Marcos Ambrose
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. David Ragan
  18. Ryan Truex
  19. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  20. Jamie McMuray
  21. Paul Menard
  22. Danica Patrick
  23. Bobby Labonte
  24. Clint Bowyer
  25. David Gilliland
  26. Michael McDowell
  27. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  28. Josh Wise
  29. Greg Biffle
  30. Casey Mears
  31. David Reutimann
  32. Jeff Gordon
  33. Landon Cassill
  34. JJ Yeley
  35. Ken Schrader
  36. Dave Blaney
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. David Stremme
  39. Travis Kvapil
  40. Tony Raines
  41. Jeff Burton
  42. Scott Speed
  43. Kyle Busch
  44. Mike Bliss – DNQ

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!