Joey Logano wins at Chicagoland, full Nationwide Series results for STP 300


Source: Geoff Burke/Getty Images North America

Joey Logano won the STP 300 at Chicagoland Speedway after getting past his Penske Racing teammate Sam Hornish.

The race began with Sam Hornish on the pole and trailing Regan Smith by five points in the NASCAR Nationwide Series point standings. As the race went green the car driven by Joey Gase lost an oil pump belt bringing out the first caution of the race.

Sam Hornish would lead the field onto pit road after the second caution but received a penalty for two fast entering pit road and was forced to drop to the back of the field as Elliott Sadler took the race lead.

After halfway Travis Pastrana lost a right front tire after hitting the wall bringing out the third caution. The fourth caution came out when Regan Smith spun around on the front stretch and pit strategy jumbled up the field.

STANDINGS: Sam Hornish takes point lead, full NNS standings

With 29 laps to go caution would again fly for Mike Bliss setting up a final round of pit stops. When the field returned to green it was Sadler again at the front of the field. Hornish would take the lead before Reed Sorenson brought out the sixth caution with a blown motor.

Logano would get around Hornish and claim victory. Penkse Racing had opted to bring Logano to Chicagoland in hopes of making up points in the owners championship against the No. 54 of Kyle Busch Racing.

Austin Dillon who finished third won the $100,000 Dash4Cash bonus.

Results for the STP 300 at Chicagoland Speedway

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Sam Hornish
  3. Austin Dillon
  4. Elliott Sadler
  5. Brian Vickers
  6. Parker Kligerman
  7. Trevor Bayne
  8. Justin Allgaier
  9. Brad Sweet
  10. Matt Crafton
  11. Brian Scott
  12. Kyle Larson
  13. Regan Smith
  14. Joey Coulter
  15. Dakoda Armstrong
  16. Michael Annett
  17. Nelson Piquet Jr
  18. Travis Pastrana
  19. Mike Bliss
  20. Johanna Long
  21. Landon Cassill
  22. Chad Hackenbracht
  23. Joe Nemechek
  24. Mike Wallace
  25. Jeremy Clements
  26. Kyle Fowler
  27. Blake Koch
  28. Eric McClure
  29. Dexter Stacey
  30. Reed Sorenson
  31. Alex Bowman
  32. Harrison Rhodes
  33. Kevin Lepage
  34. Tanner Berryhill
  35. Carl Long
  36. T.J. Bell
  37. Jeff Green
  38. Ken Butler
  39. Matt Dibenedetto
  40. Joey Gase