Kyle Busch wins Truck race at Dover, full race results for Lucas Oil 200


Credit: Larry Scavnicky at Front Stretch Photos

Kyle Busch won Friday’s Lucas Oil 200 Camping World Truck Series race at Dover International Speedway for his second win of the 2013 season.

Darrell Wallace Jr. started on the pole for the race, becoming the youngest driver to win a Truck series pole. He led the first 117 laps before giving up the lead to Matt Crafton.

The first caution came early, on lap 1 when Timothy Peters, Max Gresham and John Wes Townley took a spin.

Chase Elliott chipped away at Wallace Jr’s lead from the beginning and by lap 44 was only .994 seconds behind. Moments later Norm Benning went spinning and brought out a caution. After a pit stop Elliott was cited too fast exiting pit road and had to restart at the rear of the field.

By lap 80 Elliott had made his way back into the top ten, by lap 120 he became the leader as Crafton headed to pit road. On lap 135, Elliott gave up his lead to head to pit road himself. taking four tires and fuel –  Elliott was once again cited too fast exiting and had to serve his second pass through penalty of the evening. Elliott finished the race in fourth position.

Lap 142 Kyle Busch took the lead for the first time of the evening, but it wasn’t long before Wallace Jr. was cutting back into Busch’s lead. On lap 159 a caution came out for debris entering turn 3 on the high side. On the restart on lap 161, Crafton beat Busch off of pit road. In only eight laps Busch once again reclaimed the lead.

Lap 180 brought out yet another caution for debris. Busch decided to stay out, while Wallace Jr. decided to pit with only 20 laps to go in the race.

The trucks restarted with 16 to go. Busch on the outside, and Crafton on the inside. Busch had a successful restart and was able to stay in the lead. On lap 187 Busch ran his fastest lap of the race.

Lap 190 brought out another caution as Tim George Jr.’s right front tire went down.

The race restarted with 4 laps to go. Busch was able to hold onto his lead and tame Monster Mile for the third time in his Truck series career. Crafton finished second, Blaney third, Elliott fourth.

Full Results for Lucas Oil 200 at Dover International Speedway:

1    Kyle Busch
2    Matt Crafton
3    Ryan Blaney
4    Chase Elliott
5    Brendan Gaughan
6    Timothy Peters
7    Johnny Sauter
8    Joey Coulter
9    Jeb Burton
10    Darrell Wallace Jr.
11    John Wes Townley
12    Ron Hornaday Jr.
13    German Quiroga
14    David Starr
15    James Buescher
16    Ross Chastain
17    Ryan Sieg
18    Miguel Paludo
19    Todd Bodine
20    Caleb Holman
21    Dakoda Armstrong
22    Bryan Silas
23    Jeff Agnew
24    Brennan Newberry
25    Tim George Jr.
26    Kyle Martel
27    Jennifer Jo Cobb
28    Max Gresham
29    Norm Benning
30    C.J. Faison
31    Ty Dillon
32    Mike Harmon
33    Danny Efland
34    Chris Jones
35    Chris Lafferty
36    Johnny Chapman

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!