Mike Ford out at JGR in the latest crew chief change

Mike Ford is out as the crew chief for the #11 of Denny Hamlin. Hamlin and Ford suffered though the 2011 season after coming within points of winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup title in 2010.

Ford told the Associated Press. “It had been dragging on for so long, I’m actually relieved there’s finally a resolution.”

Apparently Joe Gibbs met with Darian Grubb last week in Las Vegas and has since showed off the Joe Gibbs Racing facility to him. Grubb was the crew chief for Tony Stewart’s 2011 title which came as a result of winning five of the last ten races in the season.

Hamlin won only one race last season after winning 8 the previous season.

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!