Ryan Hunter-Reay wins Indy 500, full results for 98th running


American driver Ryan Hunter-Reay won the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday afternoon.

Driving the No. 28 DHL Honda, it was Hunter-Reay who took the checkered flag first ahead of three-time winner Helio Castroneves and Marco Andretti.

In winning Hunter-Reay led the most imporant of the 200 laps around the 2.5-mile Brickyard.

The race began with Ed Carpenter on the pole. He would lead early on before Will Power went to the front of the field. By lap 44 Graham Rahal had pulled to the pits with an engine problem.

Scott Dixon lost the handle of his car with just over 30 laps to go ending his day. Joseph Newgarden saw his day end when he was hit from behind while slowing for Dixon’s wreck.

Nearing the end of the race Townsend Bell appeared to make contact with Ed Carpenter who was then involved in a wreck with James Hinchcliffe was the three were racing three-wide.

With eight laps to go the red flag was brought out when Townsend Bell lost the back end of his car.

When green flew with six to go Hunter-Reay and Castroneves battled back and forth with Hunter-Reay making the race winning pass with two to go.

Indianapolis 500 Results

  1. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  2. Helio Castroneves
  3. Marco Andretti
  4. Carlos Munox
  5. Juan Pablo Montoya
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Sebastien Bourdais
  8. Will Power
  9. Sage Karam
  10. JR Hildebrand
  11. Oriol Servia
  12. Simon Pagenaud
  13. Alex Tagliani
  14. Jacques Villeneuve
  15. Sebastian Saavedra
  16. James Davison
  17. Carlos Huertas
  18. Ryan Bricoe
  19. Takuma Sato
  20. Jack Hawksworth
  21. Mikhail Aleshin
  22. Justin Wilson
  23. Martin Plowman
  24. Pippa Mann
  25. Townsend Bell
  26. Tony Kanaan
  27. Ed Carpenter
  28. James Hinchcliffe
  29. Scott Dixon
  30. Josef Newgarden
  31. Charlie Kimbrall
  32. Buddy Lazier
  33. Graham Rahal
John Bman
John Bmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News