Ed Carpenter wins pole for Indy 500, Full Starting Grid


Ed Carpenter will lead a field of 33 cars to the green flag on Memorial Day for the start of the 2014 Indianapolis 500 at the 2.5 mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Qualifying on Saturday sat the 33 car field but on Sunday starting positions were determined with spots 10-33 running laps ahead of the fast nine who all ran for the P1. In the end it was Carpenter beating out James Hinchcliffe and Will Power for the pole spot. It marks the second straight year in which Carpenter has sat on the pole.

The Indianapolis 500 will be run on Sunday May 25 at noon on ABC.

Starting Lineup for Indianapolis 500

  1. Ed Carpenter
  2. James Hinchcliffe
  3. Will Power
  4. Helio Castroneves
  5. Simon Pagenaud
  6. Marco Andretti
  7. Carlos Munoz
  8. Josef Newgarden
  9. JR Hildebrand
  10. Juan Pablo Montoya
  11. Scott Dixon
  12. Kurt Busch
  13. Jack Hawksworth
  14. Justin Wilson
  15. Mikhail Aleshin
  16. Tony Kanaan
  17. Sebastien Bourdais
  18. Oriol Servia
  19. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  20. Graham Rahal
  21. Carlos Huertas
  22. Pipa Mann
  23. Takuma Sato
  24. Alex Tagliani
  25. Townsend Bell
  26. Charlie Kimball
  27. Jacques Villeneuve
  28. James Davison
  29. Martin Plowman
  30. Ryan Briscoe
  31. Sage Karam
  32. Sebastian Saavedra
  33. Buddy Lazier