Kurt Busch wins at Martinsville, Results for the STP 500


Kurt Busch won Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Martinsville Speedway edging out Jimmie Johnson for his first win since leaving Penske Racing three years ago.

The driver of the No. 41 Hass Automation Chevrolet crossed the start finish line ahead of Johnson and Dale Earnhardt Jr. to claim the win in the STP 500. Busch led 23 of 500 laps around the 0.526-mile paperclip shaped short track.

Kyle Busch bean the race on he pole but it was not long before Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson and Joey Logano all showed they would be factors in Sunday’s race. Brad Keselowski made contact with Kasey Khane during the firsts round of pitstops ruining his hopes of a win. With 50 laps to go Clint Bowyer took the top spot but Johnson again reclaimed it following a round of pitstops under caution.

With 28 laps to go Kurt Busch took the lead from there the two raced back and forth  In the end it was Busch who scored his first win of the year.

In addition to Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch Dale Earnhardt Jr, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards as drivers who have won a race this year.

Results for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Martinsville

  1. Kurt Busch
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Marcos Ambrose
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Ryan Truex
  11. AJ Allmendinger
  12. Jeff Gordon
  13. Carl Edwards
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. Austin Dillo0n
  16. Brian Vickers
  17. Tony Stewart
  18. Greg Biffle
  19. Denny Hamlin
  20. Ryan Newman
  21. Martin Truex Jr.
  22. Kasey Kahne
  23. Justin Allgaier
  24. Casey Mears
  25. Landon Cassill
  26. David Gilliland
  27. Kyle Larson
  28. David Ragan
  29. Cole Whitt
  30. Ryan Truex
  31. Michael Annett
  32. Danica Patrick
  33. Travis Kvapil
  34. Reed Sorenson
  35. Josh Wise
  36. Alex Bowman
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Brad Keselowski
  39. David Stremme
  40. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  41. Parker Kligerman
  42. Jamie McMurray
  43. Joe Nemechek
John Boarman
John Boarmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News