Martin Truex Jr. wins pole for NASCAR Sprint Showdown, full starting lineup and race info


Two drivers from the NASCAR Sprint Showdown will transfer into Saturday’s feature, the All-Star race. Leading the field of hopefuls will be Martin Truex Jr. who posted the best time in qualifying on Friday.

It is the first pole for Truex in the Showdown, he is a two time winner of the event. Truex’s time was a full tenth of a second faster then Jamie McMurray who will start the race second.

The Sprint Showdown will consist of two segments of 20 laps. After the first segment teams can choose to pit or stay out. The final 20 lap segment will only count laps run under the green flag.

Coverage of the Sprint Showdown will begin at 7:30 pm ET Saturday night on SPEED.

Charlotte Motor Speedway is a 1.5 mile quad oval which has hosted NASCAR events dating back to the Coca-Cola 600 in 1960.

Startling Lineup for the NASCAR Sprint Showdown

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Jamie McMurray
  3. Juan Pablo Montoya
  4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  5. Casey Mears
  6. Jeff Burton
  7. Danica Patrick
  8. Paul Menard
  9. JJ Yeley
  10. Landon Cassill
  11. Bobby Labonte
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Scott Riggs
  14. David Gilliland
  15. Michael McDowell
  16. David Reutimann
  17. Mike Bliss
  18. Travis Kvapil
  19. Dave Blaney
  20. Timmy Hill
  21. Joe Nemechek
  22. David Stremme
  23. Brian Keselowski

There were no drivers who failed to qualify as all who were on the entry list were guaranteed a starting spot in the race.

John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News