Chase Elliott wins Geico 400, Talladega results

Chase Elliott won Sunday’s running of the Geico 500 at Talladega Superspeedway.

The first Superspeedway race sans restrictor plate since 1987 resulted in the No. 9 going to victory lane in a race that often featured side by side and three wide racing. The win is the fourth in his career. All have come in his last 25 starts becoming the first Chevrolet winner of 2019.

Austin Dillon began the day on the pole as several Joe Gibbs Racing and Roush Fenway Racing cars went to the back of the pack.

Ty Dillon won the first stage of the race while Chase Elliott won the second. An early crash took out the likes of Daytona 500 winner Denny Hamlin, Clint Bowyer and Kevin Harvick among others. The red flag would come out following a crash with seven to go.

Geico 500 Results Talladega

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Alex Bowman
  3. Ryan Preece
  4. Daniel Hemric
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Kyle Busch
  10. Brendan Gaughan
  11. Corey LaJoie
  12. Daniel Suarez
  13. Austin Dillon
  14. Brad Keselowski
  15. Ty Dillon
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Ryan Blaney
  18. Reed Sorenson
  19. Erik Jones
  20. Martin Truex Jr.
  21. William Byron
  22. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  23. David Ragan
  24. Kyle Larson
  25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  26. Ross Chastain
  27. Parker Kligerman
  28. Chris Buescher
  29. Matt DiBenedetto
  30. Cody Ware
  31. Justin Haley
  32. Clint Bowyer
  33. Jimmie Johnson
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Standon Barrett
  36. Denny Hamlin
  37. Matt Tifft
  38. Kevin Harvick
  39. Bubba Wallace
  40. Michael McDowell


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here