Matt Bowling wins Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown at South Boston

via NASCAR Hometracks

via NASCAR Hometracks

Local driver Matt Bowling won the Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown on Thursday night defeating a field of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers at South Boston Speedway.

Bowling was the 2012 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car track champion at South Boston. On Thursday night he finished ahead of Cup drivers Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth and Denny Hamlin.

“I can’t believe it,” said Bowling after the race. “The 0 (Waltz) was really, really fast. I just rode and rode and saved my stuff and it worked out that we had enough at the end. I saw he was fading a little bit and I turned the wick up a whole lot.”


Results for the 2014 Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown

1.   Matt Bowling
2.   Matt Waltz
3.   Nick Smith
4.   Kyle Busch
5.   Matt Kenseth
6.   Bobby McCarty
7.   Myatt Snider
8.   Denny Hamlin
9.    Bruce Anderson
10.   Ryan Preece
20. David Ragan