Sprint Unlimited: Entry List, Start Time and Fan Vote Info for the Race


The Sprint Unlimited is the predecessor to the Daytona 500, NASCAR’s famed race that signifies the start of the 2014 racing season. Practices will take place on Friday evening, Feb. 14 starting at 5:30 pm ET, and will air on Fox Sports 1. The Sprint Unlimited will run on Saturday, Feb. 15 at 8:00 pm/ET and will also air on Fox Sports 1.

For a full schedule of practices leading up to the famed race

Entry List for Sprint Unlimited:

  • Terry Labonte *Past Unlimited Winner
  • Tony Stewart * Past Unlimited Winner
  • Jamie McMurray
  • Brad Keselowski
  • Marcos Ambrose
  • Danica Patrick
  • Denny Hamlin
  • Kevin Harvick
  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  • Kyle Busch
  • Kurt Busch
  • Ryan Newman
  • Matt Kenseth
  • Joey Logano
  • Jeff Gordon
  • Jimmie Johnson
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  • Carl Edwards.

How do you qualify to be in the race you ask? You must of had a pole during the prior season, or be a past winner of the race.

A fun part of the event is that fans are able to decide on three components of the race. You can vote at the NASCAR site until February 15, at 6:00 pm/ET.

Fan vote:

  • Race format: 75 laps, three segments. But it could be 30-35-10, 30-30-15, or 30-25-20.
  • Starting order: Most career poles, 2013 driver points standings, or final Sprint Unlimited practice speeds.
  • Restart order for final segment: Fastest lap over first two segments, most laps led during first two segments, or mandatory pit stops determine the lineup.

The Sprint Unlimited is a non-points race, but does give the drivers some extra time in the car to prepare for the Daytona 500, which happens only eight days later.