Tony Kanaan wins Indianapolis 500, full race results


credit: getty images

For Tony Kanaan the reward of 500 miles at the famed Brickyard in Indianapolis, In was a drink of milk. After years of trying, he finally found victory lane in his 12th attempt. On Sunday Kanaan won in the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500 and will be rewarded with a jug of 2% milk.

Nine years ago Kanaan gave his good-luck necklace to a young girl undergoing brain surgery wishing her good luck. On Saturday night she over-nighted the necklace to Kanaan telling him he needed good luck. He ran the race with the charm in his pocket, pulling it out in victory lane.

kanaanA recording setting number of 68 lead changes took place at Indy, doubling the record which was set a year ago.

Local driver Ed Carpenter began the race on the pole, becoming the first driver/owner to do so since 1975.

The first car out of the race was J.R. Hildebrand who lost control of his car while Takuma Sato would later spin his car. For much of the early part of the race Carpenter, Tony Kanaan and Marco Andretti traded the lead.

A.J. Allmendinger who started fifth and dealt with a gear issue early on would take the race lead just prior to halfway. On lap 112 Allmendinger pitted after his belts came undone, he would eventually work his way back to the lead but remained off pit sequence while racing against Marco Andretti and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

James Hincliff would pit with 12 laps to go giving way for Kanaan and Hunter-Reay to compete for the top spot. With less then ten laps to go Graham Rahal crashed which set up a three lap shootout.  It did not last long.

Tony Kanaan would win the race after Dario Franchitti hit the wall on the restart. Finishing second was Carlos Munoz while Hunter-Reay was third.

Results for the Indianapolis 500

1 Tony Kanaan 11 Chevrolet
2 Carlos Munoz 26 Chevrolet
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay 1 Chevrolet
4 Marco Andretti 25 Chevrolet
5 Justin Wilson 19 Honda
6 Helio Castroneves 3 Chevrolet
7 AJ Allmendinger 2 Chevrolet
8 Simon Pagenaud 77 Honda
9 Charlie Kimball 83 Honda
10 Ed Carpenter 20 Chevrolet
11 Oriol Servia 22 Chevrolet
12 Ryan Briscoe 8 Honda
13 Takuma Sato 14 Honda
14 Scott Dixon 9 Honda
15 Ana Beatriz 18 Honda
16 Tristan Vautier 55 Honda
17 Simona De Silvestro 78 Chevrolet
18 E.J. Viso 5 Chevrolet
19 Will Power 12 Chevrolet
20 James Jakes 16 Honda
21 James Hinchcliffe 27 Chevrolet
22 Conor Daly 41 Honda
23 Dario Franchitti 10 Honda
24 Alex Tagliani 98 Honda
25 Graham Rahal 15 Honda
26 Katherine Legge 81 Honda
27 Townsend Bell 60 Chevrolet
28 Josef Newgarden 21 Honda
29 Sebastien Bourdais 7 Chevrolet
30 Pippa Mann 63 Honda
31 Buddy Lazier 91 Chevrolet
32 Sebastian Saavedra 6 Chevrolet
33 JR Hildebrand 4 Chevrolet

Sign Up Tireball Sports E-mail Newsletter

  • NASCAR News Delivered To Your Inbox!
  • Hottest Stories In NFL, MLB, NHL & More
  • Easy Access to Our Website

One e-mail sent every morning - join now!