Max Verstappen scores Monaco pole, F1 Starting Grid

Max Verstappen claimed the pole for Sunday’s running of the Monaco Grand Prix.

Monaco’s narrow streets feature 19 turns and has been considered one of the distinguished wins a driver can put on their resume.

Sergio Perez, 2022 winner of this race, crashed in Q1 resulting in him having to start last. Perez not along with issues as Lewis Hamilton went off track and had to rally back with a late lap to move on to Q2.

Lando Norris would hit a barrier at the end of Q2 after hitting his front left on the chicane.

Vertappen would be the fastest car in Q1 and Q2 before claiming the pole in Q3 ahead of Fernando Alonso in the closing seconds. The pole is the 23rd of Verstappen’s career passing Alonso.

The Red Bull duo of Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez are the odds on favorites for the 80th running of the race around the 2.074 mile (3.337 km) track.

Sunday’s running of the Monaco Grand Prix is scheduled for 78 laps.

For those watching in the United States, coverage of Sunday’s Monaco Grand Prix will kick off the biggest day of auto racing at 9 an ET on ESPN.

Monaco Grand Prix Starting Lineup

  1. Max Verstappen
  2. Fernando Alonso
  3. Charles LeClerc
  4. Esteban Ocon
  5. Carlos Sainz
  6. Lewis Hamilton
  7. Pierre Gasly
  8. George Russell
  9. Yuki Tsunoda
  10. Lando Norris
  11. Oscar Piastri
  12. Nyck De Vries
  13. Alexander Albon
  14. Lance Stroll
  15. Valtteri Bottas
  16. Logan Sargeant
  17. Kevin Magnussen
  18. Nico Hulkenberg
  19. Zhou Guanyu
  20. Sergio Perez
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News