Josef Newgarden wins in Texas, PPG 375 Results


Josef Newgarden won Sunday’s running of the PPG 375 at Texas Motor Speedway.

The NTT IndyCar Series took to the 1.5-mile oval with 28 cars. Felix Rosenqvist began the day on the pole but quickly gave way to Scott Dixon before Josef Newgarden, the 2022 winner of the event, took the top spot.

In his first race with Chip Ganassi Racing Takuma Sato brought out the first caution on lap 48. The caution would alter the pit strategy for several teams who would switch to a four stop strategy. On pit road contact with Kyle Kirkwood when existing the pits would lead the car of Alexander Rossi to retire.

Newgarden would pit followed by O’Ward a few laps later. After they returned to the track O’Ward would take the lead and with 100 laps to go only five cars would be on the lead lap. With 90 laps to go only O’Ward and Newgarden were on the lead lap.

Following the second round of pit stops O’Ward’s lead was just over five seconds but a crash by a loose Rosenqvist in turn four would bring out the second caution and allow several cars back on the lead lap. While O’Ward stayed out hoping to stretch his fuel, Newgarden and others would pit for fuel to make sure they had enough.

Newgarden wouldn’t wait long before reclaiming the lead but the pace slowed and drivers attempted to avoid being at the front of the field. Colton Herta would see a moment at the front while O’Ward would retake the lead as Sting Ray Robb brought out the third caution for a cash.

Alex Palou, Romain Grosjean, Herta, and Dixon would stay out while the rest of the field would pit. O’Ward would take the lead after the restart while the Devin DeFrancesco would be hit by Graham Rahal as he tried to take his damaged car to the pits.

Newgarden would get around O’Ward and then Palou to take the lead. With two laps to go the caution fell again for a crash involving Romain Grosjean giving Newgarden the win at Texas for a second year in a row. This win is the third at Texas in the career of Newgarden.

With the win Newgarden moves up to fourth in the driver standings while O’Ward takes the lead.

Texas IndyCar Results

  1. Josef Newgarden
  2. Pato O’Ward
  3. Alex Palou
  4. David Malukas
  5. Scott Dixon
  6. Scott McLaughlin
  7. Colton Herta
  8. Romain Grosjean
  9. Marcus Ericsson
  10. Callum Ilott
  11. Helio Castroneves
  12. Rinus VeeKay
  13. Agustin Canapino
  14. Ed Carpenter
  15. Benjamin Pedersen
  16. Will Power
  17. Simon Pagenaud
  18. Jack Harvey
  19. Christian Lundgaard
  20. Conor Daly
  21. Santino Ferrucci
  22. Alexander Rossi
  23. Devlin DeFrancesco
  24. Graham Rahal
  25. Sting Ray Robb
  26. Felix Rosenqvust
  27. Kyle Kirkwood
  28. Takuma Sato
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News