Kyle Busch out-fuels field to win Pocono Race No. 2, Results


Kyle Busch ran the last 100 laps with only fourth gear and had just enough fuel to make it to the end as his competition was forced to put road to win the second race at Pocono Raceway this weekend.

Chris Buescher began the day on the pole following the inversion of the field from Saturday’s race which was won by Alex Bowman.

A blown tire on the No. 38 of Anthony Alfredo on lap 2 would bring out the first caution. On the subsequent restart Buescher would get loose and be passed by Michael McDowell. Martin Truex Jr. would go to the lead on lap 14. Truex would stay out while others pitted opting for the stage win over track position for the start of stage two though he was unable to prevent William Byron from unlapping himself as the stage came to a close.

When pit stops happened during the stage break the crew of Kyle Larson began working on the nose of his car which was damaged on a restart after contact with the rear of Denny Hamlin. Brad Keselowski would start the second stage as the leader after he did not pit. When Keselowski pitted it was Kyle. Such going to the front of the field. After a strong start Ryan Blaney would be forced to the pits a second time for a loose wheel on lap 52.

Busch would pit late in stage two but with his car stuck in fourth gear he struggled to get up to speed losing the lead the Byron who would win the stage.

As drivers attempted to run to the end on fuel the likes of Byron, Hamlin and Kurt Busch would find out they were short. In the end only Kyle Busch had enough winning the race by over seven seconds over Keselowski.

Pocono Race No. 2 Results

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Kyle Larson
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Bubba Wallace
  6. Ryan Blaney
  7. Alex Bowman
  8. Ryan Preece
  9. Tyler Reddick
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Martin Truex
  12. William Byron
  13. Austin Dillon
  14. Denny Hamlin
  15. Daniel Suarez
  16. Aric Almirola
  17. Michael McDowell
  18. Matt DiBenedetto
  19. Chris Buescher
  20. Kurt Busch
  21. Chase Briscoe
  22. Ryan Newman
  23. Corey LaJoie
  24. Cole Custer
  25. Justin Allgaier
  26. Ross Chastain
  27. Chase Elliott
  28. Cody Ware
  29. BJ McLeod
  30. James Davison
  31. Erik Jones
  32. Christopher Bell
  33. Quin Houff
  34. Anthony Alfredo
  35. Josh Bilicki
  36. Garrett Smithley
  37. Timmy Hill
  38. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
John Boarman
John Boarman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News