Pato O’Ward makes late race pass to win at Belle Isle

Pato O’Ward became the first driver to win multiple races in IndyCar this season when he won Sunday’s race at Belle Isle.

O’Ward on primary tires was able to get around a sliding Josef Newgarden who had began the race on the pole and led the entire race until that point.

With the win O’Ward moves into first place in the championship standings by one point over Alex Palou. Scott Dixon is 36 points behind in third with Newgarden 51 back in fourth. Saturday’s race winner Marcus Ericsson finished ninth.

Belle Isle Race 2 Results

  1. Pato O’Ward
  2. Josef Newgarden
  3. Alex Palou
  4. Colton Herta
  5. Graham Rahal
  6. Will Power
  7. Scott Dixon
  8. Simon Pagenaud
  9. Marcus Ericsson
  10. Santino Ferrucci
  11. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  12. Takuma Sato
  13. Alexander Rossi
  14. James Hinchcliffe
  15. Conor Daly
  16. Sebastien Bourdais
  17. Ed Jones
  18. Rinus VeeKay
  19. Jack Harvey
  20. Scott McLaughlin
  21. Jimmie Johnson
  22. Max Chilton
  23. Dalton Kellett
  24. Romain Grosjean
  25. Oliver Askey

Comments Closed