Will Power wins IndyCar season opener, Full Results from St. Petersburg

getty images
getty images

Will Power opened the IndyCar season with a win at St. Petersburg.

The driver of the Penske Racing car placed his car in victory lane but left others upset following a slow restart on lap 82 of the race.

“(IndyCar) threw the green early,” Power said. “I thought we were meant to go in that (restart) zone. I was surprised.”

“I lifted a little; I did not touch the brake at all. They can look at my data.”

The win is the 22nd of Power’s career. He won the last two races of 2013. He also earned the bonus points for leading the most laps.

Juan Pablo Montoya finished 15th in his return to IndyCar. Last years champion Scott Dixon opened the season with a fourth place finish.

Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Results

  1. Will Power
  2. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  3. Helio Castroneves
  4. Scott Dixon
  5. Simon Pagenaud
  6. Tony Kanaan
  7. Takuma Sato
  8. Justin Wilson
  9. Josef Newgarden
  10. Ryan Briscoe
  11. Sebastian Saavedra
  12. Mikhali Alehin
  13. Sebastien Bourdais
  14. Graham Rahal
  15. Juan Pablo Montoya
  16. Mike Conway
  17. Carlos Munoz
  18. Carlos Huertas
  19. James Hunchcliffe
  20. Charlie Kimball
  21. Jake Hawksworth
  22. Marco Andretti
John Bman
John Bmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News