Cox, La Russa, Torre elected to Hall of Fame


A trio of former managers who won World Series Championships were elected into the National Baseball Hall of Fame by a unanimou vote of the Expansion Era Committee.

La Russa, Torre and Cox rank third, fourth and fifth in managerial victories in Major League history, each winning more than 2,000 games. Torre is one of five managers to win at least four World Series titles, which he did with the Yankees in 1996 and 1998-2000. La Russa won championships with Oakland in 1989 and St. Louis in 2006 and 2011. Cox led Atlanta to the 1995 World Series title and 14 straight division titles.

Only Connie Mack (3,731) and John McGraw (2,763) won more games than La Russa (2,728), Cox (2,504) and Torre (2,326).

They will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 27 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Other candidates on the ballot included Dave Concepcion, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Dave Parker, Dan Quisenberry and Ted Simmons; manager Billy Martin; Marvin Miller, the first and highly influential executive director of the Major League Baseball Players Association, and iconic Yankees principal owner George Steinbrenner. None of those candidates received the required 75 percent of 12 votes from the committee.

Sign Up For Our E-mail List

  • MLB Stories Delivered To Your Mailbox
  • Trending News from NFL, NASCAR, WWE & More
  • Easy Access to Return to Our Site

Get e-mails from Tireball Sports now!