American Man wins Boston Marathon for first time since ’83

For the first time in 31 years the winner of the Men’s Elite in the Boston Marathon is an American.

Meb Keflezighi was the first to cross the finish line with a time of 2:08:37.

Meanwhile Rita Jeptoo defended her title as the winner of the Women’s event.

When news of Keflezighi’s win was announced at Fenway Park, Orioles outfielder Adam Jones raced to center field pumping his fist.

Full List of Boston Marathon winners:

The winner from the Elite Men’s division: Meb Keflezighi

The winner from the Elite Women’s division: Rita Jeptoo

The winner from the Men’s Wheelchair division: Ernst Van Dyk

The winner from the Women’s Wheelchair division: Tatyana McFadden