Marcus Mariota Wins Heisman Trophy


Oregon Ducks quarterback Marcus Mariota won the Heisman Trophy. The Heisman Trophy win for Mariota is the first in the history of the University of Oregon.

After months of talk and weeks of speculation the trophy went to Mariota in a landslide as he more than doubled the points of second place Melvin Gordon of Wiscosin. Mariota received 2,534 points out of a maximum of 2,787 including 788 of the first place votes. Third place finisher Amari Cooper was second in first place votes with 49.

Player Total 1st
1. Marcus Mariota 2,534 788
2. Melvin Gordon 1,250 37
3. Amari Cooper 1,023 49
4. Trevone Boykin 218 8
5. J.T. Barrett 78 0
6. Jameis Winston 51 4
7. Tevin Coleman 44 2
8. Dak Prescott 42 2
9. Scooby Wright III 21 0
10. Bryce Petty 13 1
— Max possible points: 2,787

Last year’s Heisman winner Jameis Winston finished sixth receiving just 51 points and four first place votes. Mariota and Winston’s teams will face off against one another on Jan. 1 in the Rose Bowl as the inaugural college football playoff gets¬†underway.

Mariota received the second-highest percentage of possible points (90.92) in Heisman history, behind only Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith, who had 91.63 in 2006. It is worth nothing that Reggie Bush received 91.77 percent of the vote during the 2005 season but that his award was vacated due to the breaking of NCAA rules.

Mariota is the ninth QB to win the Maxwell, Davey O’Brien, and Heisman Trophy awards in same season, and first since Cam Newton in 2010.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here